Public Media

As a sociologist I am always interested in people and what they do and why they do it. New social media sites like facebook, twitter [and so on and so forth] make it so easy to do this. But at what expense do people let their private lives sit on a timeline on facebook for every soul to read and take advantage of? Do people not realize the long term consequences of posting personal information on the internet? Once it’s there … IT’S THERE FOR THE THE LONG RUN BABY. I realize when I was younger, I thought I was invincible too and that nothing could ever hurt me; the thing is I know people older than myself that are just as blind to these offenses. There is no reason to subject your friends/family/[and more importantly] strangers that you add or can read your pages to a daily blow-by-blow of your everyday activities. Is it modern day narcissism? Or just boredom? I don’t know. It will only grow as technology advances and brings us closer to knowing your every day activities but having nothing do to with them.

LEADING TO MY BIGGEST PEEVE OF ALL.

How rare it is to have a decent, intellectual conversation with someone, ANYONE, about anything. I can’t tell you how many times people have opted to tell me about something via facebook or text that should have required a phone call or getting together in person. Hey, kind of like my ex telling me he cheated on me. That’s always a nice call. Are we that far gone that we hide behind the very thing that is suppose to improve communication? It’s sad. I know i’m sad because I think it’s only ruining us as a society.

Leave a Reply

